65 results   page 1 of 6   >
view sort by
Fiction - Small Town & Rural
cover_9780525640790
Author: Lisa Wingate
Release Date: July 03, 2018
From the New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were Yours comes a heartfelt novel about the bonds of family and the power of second chances.

When Kate Bowman temporarily moves to her grandmother’s Missouri farm with her husband and baby son, she learns that the lessons that most enrich our lives often come unexpectedly.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525640790
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525640790
cover_9780525523055
Author: Greg Kincaid | Narrator: Mark Bramhall
Release Date: October 24, 2017
From the New York Times bestselling author of A Dog Named Christmas comes this heartwarming Christmas story about the power of family and the strength and love that comes from our pets.

In this fourth installment of the poignant stories of the McCray family and their lovable canines in rural Kansas, matriarch Mary Ann McCray is determined to shake up Christmas by accepting the role as Crossing Trail's first woman Santa Claus.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525523055
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525523055
cover_9780525495239
Author: Jonathan Dee | Narrator: George Newbern and Ray Porter
Release Date: August 08, 2017
“Summons up a small American town at precisely the right moment in our history . . . a bold, vital, and view-expanding novel.”—George Saunders

A rural working-class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire in this inspired novel for our times—fiction in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jennifer Egan.
$22.50
ISBN: 9780525495239
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525495239
cover_9781524779320
Author: Patti Callahan Henry | Narrator: Dorothy Dillingham Blue, Shannon McManus, Lauren Fortgang and Andi Arndt
Release Date: July 11, 2017
The women who spent their childhood summers in a small southern town discover it harbors secrets as lush as the marshes that surround it...
 
Bonny Blankenship’s most treasured memories are of idyllic summers spent in Watersend, South Carolina, with her best friend, Lainey McKay.
cover_9781524779320
cover_9780525496984
Author: Kent Haruf | Narrator: Danny Campbell
Release Date: July 04, 2017
From the bestselling author of EventideThe Tie That Binds is a powerfully eloquent tribute to the arduous demands of rural America, and of the tenacity of the human spirit.

Colorado, January 1977. Eighty-year-old Edith Goodnough lies in a hospital bed, IV taped to the back of her hand, police officer at her door.
cover_9780525496984
cover_9780525497004
Author: Kent Haruf | Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Release Date: July 04, 2017
In Where You Once Belonged, the bestselling and award-winning novelist of Eventide, Kent Haruf tells of a small-town hero who is dealt an enviable hand--and cheats with all of the cards.

Deftly plotted, defiantly honest, Where You Once Belonged sings the song of a wounded prairie community in a narrative with the earmarks of a modern American classic.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525497004
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525497004
cover_9781524750411
Author: Ann Weisgarber | Narrator: Quincy Tyler Bernstine
Release Date: September 06, 2016
Soon to be a Major Motion Picture Starring Emmy Award Winner and Oscar Nominee Viola Davis; "An eye-opening look at the little-explored area of a black frontier woman in the American West." --Chicago Sun-Times

Praised by Alice Walker and many other bestselling writers, The Personal History of Rachel DuPree is an award-winning debut novel with incredible heart about life on the prairie as it's rarely been seen.
cover_9781524750411
cover_9780698154124
Author: John Steinbeck and Gary Scharnhorst | Narrator: Richard Poe
Release Date: July 14, 2015
In his first novel to follow the publication of his enormous success, The Grapes of Wrath, Steinbeck’s vision comes wonderfully to life in this imaginative and unsentimental chronicle of a bus traveling California’s back roads, transporting the lost and the lonely, the good and the greedy, the stupid and the scheming, the beautiful and the vicious away from their shattered dreams and, possibly, toward the promise of the future.
cover_9780698154124
cover_9781101926512
Author: Winston Graham | Narrator: Clare Corbett
Release Date: April 14, 2015
"From the incomparable Winston Graham...who has everything that anyone else has, then a whole lot more."
-The Guardian

Demelza is a heartwarming, gripping, and utterly entertaining saga that brings to life an unforgettable cast of characters and one of the greatest love stories of our age.
$22.50
ISBN: 9781101926512
Unabridged Download
cover_9781101926512
cover_9781611763928
Author: Jan Karon | Narrator: Jan Karon
Release Date: March 31, 2015
Thousands of readers have come home to Mitford, the little town with the big heart, whose endearing and eccentric residents have become like family members. But now change is coming to the hamlet. Father Tim, the Episcopal rector, and his wife Cynthia are pondering retirement; a brash new mayoral candidate is calling for aggressive development; a suspicious realtor with plans for a health spa is eyeing the beloved house on the hill; and, worst of all, the Sweet Stuff Bakery may be closing.
cover_9781611763928
cover_9780698190252
Author: David Joy | Narrator: MacLeod Andrews
Release Date: March 03, 2015
"Lyrical, propulsive, dark and compelling. Joy knows well the grit and gravel of his world, the soul and blemishes of the place."--Daniel Woodrell

In the country-noir tradition of Winter's Bone meets 'Breaking Bad,' a savage and beautiful story of a young man seeking redemption.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780698190252
Unabridged Download
cover_9780698190252
cover_9780553398236
Author: Robert B. Parker and Reed Farrel Coleman | Narrator: James Naughton
Release Date: September 09, 2014
Police Chief Jesse Stone is back in the remarkable new installment of the New York Times–bestselling series.
 
It’s been a long time since Jesse Stone left L.A., and still longer since the tragic injury that ruined his chances for a major league baseball career.
cover_9780553398236