69 results   page 1 of 6   >
view sort by
Fiction - Small Town & Rural
cover_9781984838735
Author: Richard Russo
Release Date: February 12, 2019
Originally published in 1986 in the Vintage Contemporaries paperback series—and reissued now in hardcover alongside his masterful new novel, Empire Falls—Richard Russo’s Mohawk remains today as it was described then. A first novel with all the assurance of a mature writer at the peak of form and ambition, Mohawk is set in upstate New York and chronicles over a dozen lives in a leather town, long after the tanneries have started closing down.
cover_9781984838735
cover_9781984839831
Author: Keith Scribner
Release Date: January 08, 2019
From the author of The Oregon Experiment, the story of a father's return to his childhood home, the site of unspeakable tragedy, and of the complex and often warring obligations--not least forgiveness--we have to our family, our friends, and our past.
cover_9781984839831
cover_9781984837806
Author: Donald Ray Pollock
Release Date: November 20, 2018
In this unforgettable work of fiction, Donald Ray Pollock peers into the soul of a tough Midwestern American town to reveal the sad, stunted but resilient lives of its residents.

Spanning a period from the mid-sixties to the late nineties, the linked stories that comprise Knockemstiff feature a cast of recurring characters who are woebegone, baffled and depraved—but irresistibly, undeniably real.
cover_9781984837806
cover_9781984847546
Author: Jan Karon | Narrator: Jan Karon and John McDonough
Release Date: October 30, 2018
A new must-have collection for fans of the New York Times bestselling Mitford series, featuring the prayers, sermons, and inspiration from beloved Father Tim, as well as new essays and reflections on faith from author Jan Karon.

Over the course of fourteen novels, millions of readers have fallen in love with the faith, encouragement, and wisdom that are at the very heart of Jan Karon's Mitford series.
cover_9781984847546
cover_9780525640790
Author: Lisa Wingate | Narrator: Allyson Ryan
Release Date: July 03, 2018
From the New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were Yours comes a heartfelt novel about the bonds of family and the power of second chances.

When Kate Bowman temporarily moves to her grandmother’s Missouri farm with her husband and baby son, she learns that the lessons that most enrich our lives often come unexpectedly.
cover_9780525640790
cover_9780525523055
Author: Greg Kincaid | Narrator: Mark Bramhall
Release Date: October 24, 2017
From the New York Times bestselling author of A Dog Named Christmas comes this heartwarming Christmas story about the power of family and the strength and love that comes from our pets.

In this fourth installment of the poignant stories of the McCray family and their lovable canines in rural Kansas, matriarch Mary Ann McCray is determined to shake up Christmas by accepting the role as Crossing Trail's first woman Santa Claus.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525523055
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525523055
cover_9780525495239
Author: Jonathan Dee | Narrator: George Newbern and Ray Porter
Release Date: August 08, 2017
“Summons up a small American town at precisely the right moment in our history . . . a bold, vital, and view-expanding novel.”—George Saunders

A rural working-class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire in this inspired novel for our times—fiction in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jennifer Egan.
$22.50
ISBN: 9780525495239
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525495239
cover_9781524779320
Author: Patti Callahan Henry | Narrator: Dorothy Dillingham Blue, Shannon McManus, Lauren Fortgang and Andi Arndt
Release Date: July 11, 2017
The women who spent their childhood summers in a small southern town discover it harbors secrets as lush as the marshes that surround it...
 
Bonny Blankenship’s most treasured memories are of idyllic summers spent in Watersend, South Carolina, with her best friend, Lainey McKay.
cover_9781524779320
cover_9780525496984
Author: Kent Haruf | Narrator: Danny Campbell
Release Date: July 04, 2017
From the bestselling author of EventideThe Tie That Binds is a powerfully eloquent tribute to the arduous demands of rural America, and of the tenacity of the human spirit.

Colorado, January 1977. Eighty-year-old Edith Goodnough lies in a hospital bed, IV taped to the back of her hand, police officer at her door.
cover_9780525496984
cover_9780525497004
Author: Kent Haruf | Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Release Date: July 04, 2017
In Where You Once Belonged, the bestselling and award-winning novelist of Eventide, Kent Haruf tells of a small-town hero who is dealt an enviable hand--and cheats with all of the cards.

Deftly plotted, defiantly honest, Where You Once Belonged sings the song of a wounded prairie community in a narrative with the earmarks of a modern American classic.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525497004
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525497004
cover_9781524721664
Author: Willa Cather | Narrator: Carla Mercer-Meyer
Release Date: October 04, 2016
A Lost Lady is the portrait of a frontier woman who reflects the conventions of her age even as she defies them. To the people of Sweet Water, a fading railroad town on the Western plains, Mrs. Forrester is the resident aristocrat, at once gracious and comfortably remote.
cover_9781524721664
cover_9781524750411
Author: Ann Weisgarber | Narrator: Quincy Tyler Bernstine
Release Date: September 06, 2016
Soon to be a Major Motion Picture Starring Emmy Award Winner and Oscar Nominee Viola Davis; "An eye-opening look at the little-explored area of a black frontier woman in the American West." --Chicago Sun-Times

Praised by Alice Walker and many other bestselling writers, The Personal History of Rachel DuPree is an award-winning debut novel with incredible heart about life on the prairie as it's rarely been seen.
cover_9781524750411