The conclusion to Between the Devil and The Deep Blue Sea, this gothic thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and Daphne du Maurier is a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures and Anna Dressed in Blood.

Freddie once told me that the Devil created all the fear in the world.
But then, the Devil once told me that it's easier to forgive someone for scaring you than for making you cry.
The problem with River West Redding was that he'd done both to me.


The crooked-smiling liar River West Redding, who drove into Violet's life one summer day and shook her world to pieces, is gone. Violet and Neely, River's other brother, are left to worry—until they catch a two a.m. radio program about strange events in a distant mountain town. They take off in search of River but are always a step behind, finding instead frenzied towns, witch hunts, and a wind-whipped island with the thrum of something strange and dangerous just under the surface. It isn't long before Violet begins to wonder if Neely, the one Redding brother she thought trustworthy, has been hiding a secret of his own . . .
Praise for Between the Spark and the Burn

"Horror and romance blend seamlessly in Tucholke’s distinctive prose. She understands the genre well, and women looking for such guilty pleasures will be hard pressed to find better examples. Readers who loved Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea will enjoy the sequel, with its uniquely stilted, poetic tone and slow-burn pace that enhances both sexual and horror tension."--VOYA

"The faded opulence of the setting is an ideal backdrop for this lushly atmospheric gothic thriller, which, happily, comes with a satisfying conclusion. Darkly romantic and evocative."--Kirkus Reviews

"The lush and polished prose, eerie locales, and pervading sense of dark unease are just as engrossing as they were in the first installment. . . .The twists, secrets, and Redding-brand mayhem make this a worthy successor."—School Library Journal

Praise for Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

"If you liked Beautiful Creatures (the book or the movie), Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea is right up your alley."—Seventeen.com

"A perfect read for stormy summer nights.”—The Boston Globe

"Looking for a dark and eerie read to cap off the end of the summer season? Look no further than April Genevieve Tucholke's YA debut."—EW.com

"Deliciously creepy." —The Atlantic Wire

"Mysterious hotties, eerie events and gothic supernatural romance in a crumbling mansion on the lonely coast of Maine. . . We totally want this book to be our new boyfriend."—MTV.com

 "…the faded elegance that permeates almost every page, elevates this above more generic offerings of its type." Booklist, starred review

 
"Violet’s narration is frank and perceptive, livened with humor and an almost poetically descriptive lilt.” – SLJ, starred review
 
Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea is a stunning debut with complex characters, an atmospheric setting, and a distinct voice.” - VOYA, starred review

"A rich blend of gothic horror and modern romance, studded with nods toward literary, cinematic and musical classics. A lush setting and provocative characters elevate this debut above others."--Kirkus Reviews
"Tucholke debuts with a thoroughly eerie novel . . . a chilling supernatural exploration of free will and reality's fluidity."--Publishers Weekly